LearningCenter_Banner_WKSHP_01_082017
LearningCenter_Banner_WKSHP_02_082017

Workshop Series

Workshop Pre and Post Tests

Workshop Evaluation | Keys Survey

Workshop Videos  |  Workshop Descriptions and Outlines

In this series, we offer seminars on a variety of topics. Most of these workshops are approximately 60 minutes long and deal primarily with writing issues, but we are beginning to incorporate workshops on other topics. These workshops are designed to improve student comprehension of specific topics, such as run-on sentences or introductory paragraphs.

Students register for workshops online through MyGCC, either before the workshop starts or at the beginning of the workshop. During the online registration, students have the option to inform their instructors of their participation.

To register for a workshop, click here.

Workshop Series Schedule

Attend one of the many writing workshops offered by the Learning Center at Glendale Community College this semester. Workshops provide students with a free and fun way to improve their writing skills. Ask your instructors if they offer extra credit for your attendance. 

 
FALL 2017
LEARNING CENTER - AD 232 
Date Day Time Topic
9/14/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #1: Expanding your Brain
9/18/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #1: Expanding your Brain
9/19/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 MLA Documentation
9/20/2017 Wednesday 11:00-12:00 Proofreading
9/21/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #2: Learning to Succeed
9/25/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #2: Learning to Succeed
9/26/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 Avoiding Vague Language
9/27/2017 Wednesday 5:30-6:30 Keys to College Success #1: Expanding your Brain
9/28/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #3: Growth Mindset
9/29/2017 Friday 10:00-11:00 Quotation Integration
10/2/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #3: Growth Mindset
10/2/2017 Monday 4:00-5:00 Keys to College Success #1: Expanding your Brain
10/3/2017 Tuesday 4:00-5:00 Keys to College Success #2: Learning to Succeed
10/3/2017 Tuesday 5:30-6:30 Introduction to Scientific Writing
10/4/2017 Wednesday 4:00-5:00 Keys to College Success #3: Growth Mindset
10/4/2017 Wednesday 5:30-6:30 Keys to College Success #2: Learning to Succeed
10/5/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #4: Thinking about Thinking
10/5/2017 Thursday 4:00-5:00 Keys to College Success #4: Thinking about Thinking
10/5/2017 Thursday 5:00-6:00 Keys to College Success #5: Succeeding by Failing
10/9/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 Outlining and Essay Structure
10/9/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #4: Thinking about Thinking
10/10/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 APA Documentation
10/10/2017 Tuesday 5:30-6:30 Introductions and Conclusions
10/11/2017 Wednesday 12:30-1:30 Fragments
10/11/2017 Wednesday 5:30-6:30 Keys to College Success #3: Growth Mindset
10/12/2017 Thursday 11:00-12:00 Visual Arguments
10/12/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #5: Succeeding by Failing
10/13/2017 Friday 12:30-1:30 Paragraph Development
10/16/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 Summary vs. Analysis
10/16/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #5: Succeeding by Failing
10/17/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 Critical Reading
10/17/2017 Tuesday 5:30-6:30 Timed Writing Assignments
10/18/2017 Wednesday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #1: Expanding your Brain
10/18/2017 Wednesday 5:30-6:30 Keys to College Success #4: Thinking about Thinking
10/19/2017 Thursday 11:00-12:00 MLA Documentation
10/19/2017 Thursday 5:30-6:30 Thesis Sentences
10/23/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 Introductions and Conclusions
10/23/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Avoiding Vague Language
10/24/2017 Tuesday 11:00-12:00 Outlining and Essay Structure
10/24/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 Paragraph Development
10/25/2017 Wednesday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #2: Learning to Succeed
10/25/2017 Wednesday 5:30-6:30 Keys to College Success #5: Succeeding by Failing
10/26/2017 Thursday 11:00-12:00 Summary vs. Analysis
10/26/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Run-on Sentences
10/26/2017 Thursday 5:30-6:30 Inference and Analysis
10/27/2017 Friday 12:30-1:30 Commas, Semicolons, & Colons
10/30/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 Introduction to Scientific Writing
10/30/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Quotation Integration
11/1/2017 Wednesday 9:30-10:30 Logical Fallacies
11/1/2017 Wednesday 11:00-12:00 Avoiding Vague Language
11/1/2017 Wednesday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #3: Growth Mindset
11/2/2017 Thursday 11:00-12:00 Timed Writing Assignments
11/2/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Outlining and Essay Structure
11/2/2017 Thursday 5:30-6:30 Fragments
11/6/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 APA Documentation
11/6/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 MLA Documentation
11/6/2017 Monday 5:30-6:30 Summary vs. Analysis
11/7/2017 Tuesday 11:00-12:00 Outlining and Essay Structure
11/7/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 Avoiding Vague Language
11/7/2017 Tuesday 5:30-6:30 Proofreading
11/8/2017 Wednesday 9:30-10:30 Timed Writing Assignments
11/8/2017 Wednesday 11:00-12:00 Paragraph Development
11/8/2017 Wednesday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #4: Thinking about Thinking
11/9/2017 Thursday 11:00-12:00 Summary vs. Analysis
11/9/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Proofreading
11/9/2017 Thursday 5:30-6:30 MLA Documentation
11/13/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 Quotation Integration
11/13/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Avoiding Vague Language
11/13/2017 Monday 5:30-6:30 Outlining and Essay Structure
11/14/2017 Tuesday 11:00-12:00 Summary vs. Analysis
11/14/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 Proofreading
11/14/2017 Tuesday 5:30-1:30 Run-on Sentences
11/15/2017 Wednesday 11:00-12:00 Paragraph Development
11/15/2017 Wednesday 12:30-1:30 Keys to College Success #5: Succeeding by Failing
11/15/2017 Wednesday 5:30-6:30 Avoiding Vague Language
11/16/2017 Thursday 9:30-10:30 Commas, Semicolons, & Colons
11/16/2017 Thursday 11:00-12:00 Introductions and Conclusions
11/16/2017 Thursday 5:30-6:30 Paragraph Development
11/20/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 Outlining and Essay Structure
11/20/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Thesis Sentences
11/20/2017 Monday 5:30-6:30 Visual Arguments
11/27/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 Summary vs. Analysis
11/27/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 MLA Documentation
11/27/2017 Monday 5:30-6:30 Timed Writing Assignments
11/28/2017 Tuesday 11:00-12:00 Avoiding Vague Language
11/28/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 Introductions and Conclusions
11/28/2017 Tuesday 5:30-6:30 APA Documentation
11/29/2017 Wednesday 11:00-12:00 Timed Writing Assignments
11/29/2017 Wednesday 12:30-1:30 Thesis Sentences
11/29/2017 Wednesday 5:30-6:30 Summary vs. Analysis
11/30/2017 Thursday 11:00-12:00 Proofreading
11/30/2017 Thursday 12:30-1:30 Logical Fallacies
11/30/2017 Thursday 5:30-6:30 Paragraph Development
12/1/2017 Friday 10:00-11:00 Writing Summaries
12/1/2017 Friday 11:00-12:00 Paragraph Development
12/4/2017 Monday 9:30-10:30 Summary vs. Analysis
12/4/2017 Monday 11:00-12:00 Advanced MLA Documentation
12/4/2017 Monday 12:30-1:30 Avoiding Vague Language
12/5/2017 Tuesday 11:00-12:00 Proofreading
12/5/2017 Tuesday 12:30-1:30 MLA Documentation
12/5/2017 Tuesday 5:30-6:30 Timed Writing Assignments
Faculty and staff are welcome: Flex/CPGU credit is available! Questions?
Call Shant Shahoian, 240-1000, ext. 5341